Literary Prize René Pechère 2022

Founded in 2008 as a tribute to the great Belgian landscape architect and passionate bibliophile René Pechère, the René Pechère Literary Prize is awarded every two years to French publications that have distinguished themselves in the fields of gardening and landscaping.

The winner of the 2022 Pechère Prize will be announced on Monday 7 November 2022 during the award ceremony. The reading committee, chaired by François Chaslin, has pre-selected the following 5 books from among 46 books published between 15 March 2020 and 31 March 2022:

- La Fausse Montagne (Michael Jakob)
- Frederick Law Olmsted-Architecte du Paysage (Catherine Maumi)
- Projets 1999-2022 (Erik Dhont)
- Le Grand Traité du Jardin Punk (Eric Lenoir)
- Gazons (Lucie Nicolas-Vullierme)

Monday, November 7, 2022
Rue de l’Ermitage 55
1050 Ixelles
In collaboration with Comité René Pechère -
The multidisciplinary jury chaired by François Chaslin was composed of the following members:
François Chaslin - French architect, teacher, architecture critic and writer.
French guest members:
  • Alexandre Chemetoff - Landscape architect, urban planner.
  • Barbara de Nicolaÿ - Archaeologist, member of the Association des Parcs botaniques de France, founder of the Pierre-Joseph Redouté Prize.
  • Bertrand Warnier - Urban planner, former director of studies for the Ville Nouvelle de Cergy-Pontoise, founder of the Ateliers Internationaux de Maîtrise d'Oeuvres Urbaines.
  • Didier Wirth - President of the Fondation des Parcs et Jardins de France; President of the Institut Européen des Jardins et Paysages.
Belgian guest members:
  • Nathalie de Harlez de Deulin - Historian of gardens, doctor in History, Art and Archaeology, member of the general assembly of the René Pechère Committee, specialist member of the "Historic Gardens" at the Royal Commission for Monuments, Sites and Excavations.
  • Nicolas de Villenfagne - Landscape architect, president of the René Pechère Committee, member of the Scientific Committee of the Garden, Landscape and Ecosystem Department of the CIVA Foundation.
  • Nicole d'Huart - Art and archaeology historian, member of the board of the René Pechère Committee, Honorary Curator of the Ixelles Museum.
  • Yaron Pesztat - Philosopher, curator Modern Architecture at CIVA.
  • Bas Smets - Landscape architect.
The jury was supervised by Ursula Wieser Benedetti, landscape architect and Japanese specialist in architecture and landscape (EHESS) and curator Landscape Architecture, Gardens and Urban Ecosystems. 
The selection of the books for the 2022 prize was made by the Reading Committee, which for the record, was composed under the chairmanship of François Chaslin of: 
  • Ursula Wieser Benedetti (CIVA);
  • Jacques de Neuville (CIVA);
  • Nicole d'Huart (René Pechère Committee);
  • Marie Wabbes (René Pechère Committee);
  • Bernard Fierens Gevaert (René Pechère Committee);
  • Jean Noël Capart (René Pechère Committee);
  • Béatrice Plaquet de Bruyn (Independent and friend)